+800-451-7111 For USA and Canadian Guests

   506-2761-1800 For Costa Rican Guests

   +352-377-7111 Outside Costa Rica, USA / Canada

 

flogo ylogo

+800-451-7111 For USA and Canadian Guests
+506-2761-1800 For Costa Rican Guests
+352-377-7111 Outside Costa Rica, USA and Canada

flogo

youtube logo

English

Welcome to Selva Verde

A TRULY UNIQUE COSTA RICAN ECO-LODGE 

 

Testimonials

Costa Rica Adventure Vacation

 

Thank-you to our guests for sharing your memories with us! For those of you new to Selva Verde Lodge & Rainforest Reserve, read below to see what past guests and publications have had to say about us. Also, check out our Guestbook and on Trip Advisor entries for more great info on Selva Verde.

We love hearing from you, and invite you to tell us about your visit, either through e-mail (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) or on our Guestbook.

 

Feedback From Past Guests

a"Selva Verde is a wonderful place - beautiful, nice people, good food, and great birding!"
April 2004, Phil & Anne Lewie

 

 

 

 

"Selva Verde was the best place we visited… We saw a lot of birds, including a hummingbird with two babies sitting on a nest right next to the stairs leading to the dining room. We also saw iguanas, lizards, howler monkeys, and my favorite - a sloth. We enjoyed walking around the adjacent area and on the trails surrounded by beautiful tropical flowers."
May 2004, John & Betty Anderson

 

a"We enjoyed Selva Verde immensely. Graciano was a superb host to us - thank you!"
May 2003, Eva Niedzielski

 

 

 

 

"After 4 days here, we now consider Selva Verde our second home! Gilbert, Sadi, Alex, Graciano…all are the most excellent staff imaginable. We look forward to our return next year; maybe we can sign on to teach at the learning center (Sarapiquí Conservation Learning Center)!"
May 2003 Brian & Bernadette Gamboa

 

a"What a wonderful place to celebrate nature in all its glory!"
April 2004, Yoam Lindgram

 

 

 

 

"The rooms were well prepared and modest for the rainforest setting. Staff and guides were very attentive and friendly. The guides were very knowledgeable and eager to teach us about the rainforest and birds."
January 2004, The Gopal Family

 

a"We very much enjoyed our stay at Selva Verde. The facility is beautifully laid out and the staff was courteous and helpful."
April 2003, The Ingram Family

 

 

 

 

"Thanks for your efforts in creating the Sarapiquí Conservation Learning Center and forest reserve. Costa Rica is no ordinary country and Holbrook is no ordinary company! We didn't want to leave…"

January 2004, Catron Family

 

"The guide, Giovanni, who led the morning bird walk was excellent!"
December 2003, Tracy Nagakura & Randy Hassom

 

a"The river rafting level was suitable for our grandchildren ages 6, 7, and 9. We saw the best wildlife on the river!"
August 2003, Robert & Barbara Hauptfuhrer

 

 

 

 

"Our guide, Alexander was wonderful and really knows his birds, amphibians, and reptiles! We had a great time during our hikes with him."
March 2004, McLuckie Family

 

"We would go back to Selva Verde in a heartbeat! Beautiful grounds, helpful front desk staff, awesome food!"
January 2004, The Williams Family

 


 

Excerpts From Travel Guides

"This private reserve protects 475 acres of lowland rainforest…Miles of trails and boardwalks penetrate the dark forests, where snakes and poison-arrow frogs abound. Bird cries explode like gunshots in the murkey stillness. Blue-and-gold Tanagers, jacamars, motmots, parrots, and toucans are numerous. Selva Verde also offers canoe and horseback trips, plus elegantly simple accommodations."
National Geographic Traveler Costa Rica, 2003

 

"Selva Verde Lodge is a complex of covered walkways leading to a riverside dining room, and open, airy lounging area with hammocks and a conference room. Its comfortable cabins are raised on pillars to jungle (and bird's nest) level. Selva Verde's owners, long concerned with the well-being of the local community, have established the Sarapiquí Conservation Learning Center, with the only library in the area, a day-care center, and English and environmental education classes."
The New Key to Costa Rica, 2002

 

"Well over half of Selva Verde's approximately 200 hectares are forested; the rest contain the lodge buildings on attractively landscaped grounds. The main lodge (the River Lodge) has 40 rustic but comfortable double rooms with private hot showers. Large communal verandahs have hammocks and forest views."
Lonely Planet, Costa Rica, 2002

 

"These are without a doubt, the nicest rooms in the area. They are connected by covered walkways that keep you dry even though this area receives more than 150 inches of rain each year. Meals are served buffet-style in a lovely large, dining room that overlooks the river; they are well prepared and filling."
Frommer's Costa Rica 2002

 

"Selva Verde ... the Botanical and Butterfly Garden is a delightful resting spot after a long hike."
Traveler's Costa Rica Companion, 2001

 

"One of the premier rainforest lodges in Costa Rica, if not the Americas ..."
The Rough Guide, 1999

 

Selva Verde has received a Green Rating from the New Key to Costa Rica for its commitment to environmental education and community support.

a

 

upcoming eventsview all

Puma SVL webNew Camera-Trap Station in Action

Many of our guests are well-accustomed to spotting a myriad of birds, insects, reptiles and other species throughout the 500-acre preserve. It is less common, however, to come face-to-face with some of the larger mammals. Now, thanks to Selva Verde’s new camera-trap station, we have visual evidence from images taken on the grounds of Selva Verde, featuring some of the reserve’s more elusive residents.

Read more ...

   FROM THE BLOG

Birding at La Selva by Christa Markley

Trip Report: Understanding Costa Rica’s Conservation Success Story

Participants at CRIBC in November learned more about Costa Rica's pioneering ecotourism.

READ MORE ...

NEWS   (View All)

Amos Bien

Update from the SCLC: Saying goodbye to Amos Bien

On November 19, we bid farewell to a pioneer in sustainable tourism, a founding member of the Sarapiquí Conservation Learning Center Board, and dear friend, Amos Bien. 

 

Read more ...

   OUR STORY

holbrooks 1982 ourstory idx

The Selva Verde Story

Selva Verde began with one woman's dream of preserving nearly 500 acres of endangered tropical forest and the multitude of species that call it home.

READ MORE ...